Chargehq and Fronius Wattpilot

I’m new to Chargehq and working through the various set-up activities.

My charging system is a Fronius - Home 22J - 22KW - EV Charger with Fronius Smart Meter. I manage it via the Fronius Wattpilot app.

Once I have set up the Chargehq app on my phone, will the Fronius Wattpilot app (which I presently use to manage my charging) still work? Assuming that the Chargehq app works fine it’ll no doubt become my principal management app, but until then I want to know that I can revert to the Solar.wattpilot app if I need to.

Thanks …

Peter - absolutely, it’s purely a change in the configuration settings on the charger. You can reverse the changes made in the configuration guide, or do a factory reset on the charger.

If you have 3-phase power, you may still find it useful to use the Fronius app to switch between single and 3-phase charging at times.

Yes, the CHQ app and the Fronius app both work in concert - the charger will take commands from whichever changes last - so CHQ might tell the charger to start charging from excess solar, and if you then hit the STOP button in the Fronius app it will stop. There are messages in the Fronius app display that identify if the charger is doing something due to CHQ control, and vice versa.

If you’re using the Fronius Smartmeter to have the charger do auto-follow-excess-solar though you may need to play with the settings to stop each one trying to modulate the charging rate so they don’t fight each other. Set so only one system, or the other, controls charging rate and not both.
I have the Wattpilot, but no Fronius Smartmeter, so I have the CHQ app controlling the follow-excess-solar rate, and end up just using the Fronius app for fine-grained visibility to monitor variations in each phase’s voltage and current draw. And I pull in the comprehensive charging stats and statuses from the Wattpilot into Home Assistant for charting and automations, as CHQ doesn’t have a Home Assistant integration.